Calderdale Pool League logo

Calderdale Pool League

Winter 2020

Welcome To The Calderdale Pool League Web Site

Last updated: 17 July 2021



Hi all. In light of Boris's green light for next Monday, let us take the first step of getting our Pool League going again without jumping in with both feet, not knowing how this is going to pan out over these next few weeks.

Our proposal is that the AGM will be on Monday 23rd August, to vote in existing committee members and also to recognise which teams are going to participate in Blackball rules or against Blackball, and from there we will commence (if in favour of blackball) that Registration Night will be on Monday 6th September and hopefully we can start the league on Monday 27th September.

Warren Wheatcroft, Chairman.


Right chaps I am putting a rule in the singles league.

Players arranging games and not showing up without the curtesy of informing their opponents will forfeit that game and the result will be 8 pts to the innocent player and minus 3 to the offending player .

This is NOT up for debate and applies to all so if you arrange a game, please have the courtesy of turning up if not informing your opponent please.
Dale Fisher (2 July 2021).

UPDATE (29 May 2021): "I’ve opened a Facebook group just for the Singles League to post your results, guys. Don’t post on the Calderdale page, only in the group please.
Anyone not invited, please let me know.

The Singles League has now been drawn - for more info check out the Tables here.

Right guys, Blackball Singles League is full! There’s 48 of us so I’ll do 4 groups of 12 - they will be based on who I think are on a similar standard - There will be promotion and relegation from respective groups for future leagues. The entrance fee is £10.
The top 4 play off for the prize money which will be £80 for the winner and £40 for runner up.
The top of each group will play 4th and second will play third.
All entrance fees must be paid before any games are played no exceptions.
- Dale Fisher (26th May 2021)

Contact Dale through Facebook if you are interested in taking part.

I have added a link on the main navigation to a summary of the Blackball Rules for those wanting to know the key differences from World Rules.
(10th Sept 2020)


Good evening all,
This evening (7th Sept 2020), the committee and I met to discuss the current situation, and our future as the CPL.
As you are all aware, it has long been in discussion regarding the potential introduction of Blackball Rules into our league.   This was formally discussed at the last AGM in January.

Whilst it was not voted in for the current season, it was agreed that we would play another season of World Rules, to allow time for non BB playing members to learn the new rule set, to then hold another vote in 12 months time.   Due to circumstances outside of our control with Covid19, the current season was stopped and, due to the minimal number of matches completed, the committee made the decision to cancel the season.   It was also discussed at the AGM a mini league within CPL and again, at the decision of the members, voted against as it was felt this would not work.

This has led to discussion as to our future.    As a committee, we cannot enforce a new rule set without a members vote.    As such, in the next few weeks Andy Brierley will be making contact with each captain.    The problem we now face is as a committee, we are a group of playing members who all want to play Blackball.    We have all said we would not see it fitting to continue running a World Rules league whilst not playing in it.    As such, there will be a vote which will require the captain of every team to make a decision on the following -

Introduction of BB rules as the sole rule set of CPL.      Yes/No.
If No, there will be a further 2 questions to answer -
1. Are you happy to be reimbursed your current season entry Fee and leave the CPL to allow Blackball to be introduced without your team?
2. Are you prepared if BB rules are not passed into the CPL, that there will be a breakaway league of Blackball Rules separate to the CPL.

If a breakaway league is the route taken (if BB not passed) then the current CPL committee will be standing down in full, to take on the new venture of BB and new committee will be required.     This will allow CPL to continue unchanged, and will will happily walk away and allow this to happen, if the members wish.    This is not to be interpreted as a "shotgun to the head" approach, and comments such as 'Nazi Rule' as have been seen previously will NOT be tolerated.    This is YOUR committee, wanting to bring CPL into the future.

We simply no longer wish to run a league of World Rules which we personally no longer wish to play.   This post will act as a heads up to all teams and captains to start your discussions as to the future.

Further to the above, upon discussion, Warren has made the decision to retract his resignation.

As Secretary, I will not have any derogatory or discriminatory comments on this page towards any individual, especially the committee who give up their free time to run a league for the benefit of others. It is not fair. This will act as the final warning in this respect and if any comments are made, action will be taken accordingly with individuals.

If there are any comments to be made, I am happy for you to private message me or email ( and I will happily discuss.

Finally, we cannot envisage any competitive pool taking place this side of Christmas, however, we will play that by ear.
Yours, Rachel
Secretary, CPL.

As a result, we have designed a voting form that team captains can download & print, fill in, sign it and forward to Andy Brierley ( - the same as a completed scorecard.

Committee Members:

Chairman: Warren Wheatcroft

Vice Chairman: Graham Bottomley

Secretary: Rachel Worthington

Treasurer: Gary Broadley

Fixtures & Website: Andy Brierley

Other Committee Posts

Halifax Interleague Delegate:
Rachel Worthington

Knockout Secretary:
Dale Fisher

Interleague Secretary:
Rachel Worthington